The Shack

The Shack // Book Review

About a year ago (probably two), I was gifted the book, The Shack — and I just finished it. Yes, it took me nearly two years to read it, for several reasons, which are not important. What I find as mind-blowing as the book, is the epic timing of when I actually finished this book to make the storyline that much more meaningful to me.

The Shack

A lot can has happened in two years.

A lot that was referenced in the book, actually.

The other day, I was explaining some interesting events to my Mom in attempts to share just how relevant the phrase timing is everything &/or how there is a time and place for everything has always rang true in my life. When something is heavy on my heart for example, I will want to share it but I never worry about when, because I know God will provide the perfect time + place for it. He will allow that opportunity on His time. We can call these: Divine Appointments. 🙂

First and foremost, this book is a fantastic read — I encourage anyone to read this New York Times Bestseller. There have been over three million copies printed for a reason; it’s a great book. I also like how the book even came about. You can learn more about the author HERE.

Based out of Oregon, I was familiar with the areas mentioned and the writing was so detailed, I was able to vividly visualize everything as I hung on to every word, page by page. Fiction or non-fiction, your choice — this story is a phenomenal testimony for anyone struggling in their walk with the Lord. Life is tough, bad things happen to good people and it’s easy to blame God. It’s easy to have Great Sadness loom in your heart.

Lives, Forever Changed

Roughly 10 months ago one of my close friends was in a horrific car crash, which should have ended his life. His 6’6″ frame was crunched, crumpled, and coiled around metal and the remains of his car — it truly is a miracle he is alive. He was unconscious and encountered several otherwise fatal injuries, and was literally put back together by the amazing Doctors at Emmanuel Hospital in Portland, Oregon.

If you read The Shack, you will understand the significance of this connection. My friend, Cody, is continuing to improve everyday as you can see HERE — and since that video his speech has improved impeccably. When we talk on the phone, he sounds like his old self; however, it is clear, he will forever be changed. I constantly pray and plead that the greater good for my friend is an eternal relationship with God and His son, Jesus.

***

No one should experience the loss of a child, and my heart goes out to all who have. That heartbreaking experience is one of the main struggles in The Shack, and all I could think about were my dear friends who recently lost their only Daughter in a freak accident. Just over a month ago, their lives changed forever and although, too soon, I think this book would be perfect for them.

My Final Thoughts

The depth of The Shack is brilliant. The writing is impressive. The accuracy and scriptural reference is flawless. I laughed and cried along the journey and found myself in awe most of the time, appreciating the perspectives. Whether you have a relationship with the Creator of the universe or not, I believe you will enjoy this book + grasp the relevancy appropriate at that time in your life.

Here’s a couple excerpts from the book:

“Just because I work incredible good out of unspeakable tragedies doesn’t mean I orchestrate the tragedies. Don’t ever assume that my using something means I caused it or that I need it to accomplish my purposes. That will only lead you to false notions about me. Grace doesn’t depend on suffering to exist, but where there is suffering you will find grace in many facets and colors.” (p185)

I love that paragraph because God allows crisis when He wants us ALL IN, and being broken, often leads to Jesus &/or a deeper relationship with Him.

Here’s another one I liked:

“Lies are a fortress; inside them you can feel safe and powerful. Through your little fortress of lies you try to run your life and manipulate others. But the fortress needs walls, so you build some. These are the justifications for your lies.” (p187)

Honestly, there are so many more, and I totally wish there was a Study Guide at the end to unpack some of the “meat” that was threaded throughout the book!

If you have the chance to read The Shack, I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. Kudo’s to Mack Willie for putting his God-Given Talent to good use: Writing, and sharing the Truth. Visit The Shack Book website and join the Missy Project and hopefully this phenomenal book will birth into a movie!

If you have the chance to read The Shack, I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. Kudo’s to Mack Willie for putting his God-Given Talent to good use: Writing, and sharing the Truth. Visit The Shack Book website and join the Missy Project and hopefully this phenomenal book will birth into a movie!

UPDATE 2/16/2017:

The Shack, movie will hit theaters March 3rd!! Here is the official trailer:

Have you read The Shack?
Are you planning to watch the movie?

3 thoughts on “The Shack

  1. ooooooh I loved the first excerpt you shared!! So so so TRUE!!

    I better finish the 6 books I started before I tell my hubbs about this one! He always teases me about the many books I've started and yet to finish. He says I'm scatterbrained. I say I'm multitasking LOL.

  2. Pingback: Speechless Sunday #31 « Jenn's Adventures

Let's chat! Comment here..

