Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hi Friends! :)

In efforts to dive back into this amazing community I miss so much, I thought I would answer some questions I have received and share a little bit more about myself! Especially since my About Me page never seems to feel adequate and I know there are a lot of new faces around here! I hope you enjoy reading these questions and answers — and feel comfortable enough to participate as well!

Random Q's I

What do you have on your bedside table?
I’m actually a little embarrassed to admit this, but I’m still living out of boxes. This is somewhat normal for me, therefore, my bedside table consists of stacked boxes and there’s usually a full glass of water there. Clearly I’m all about convenience!

Where do you want to go on your next vacation?
If I flew anywhere I’d feel guilty not going to Hawai’i to see all my family-friends because I literally “up and left” December 2011, due to my family medical emergency. However, for YEARS I have longed to visit New York, Paris, and Positano (Amalfi Coast), so how about there? Yes, please!

Have you ever been in a car accident? What happened?
Yes! Growing up it was the thing to go off-roading, especially after heavy rainfall. I loved it! I had the perfect truck for it and, well, I was good at it! But looking back now, I realize just how lucky we all were — Wild memories!

Anyway, the ONE TIME I wasn’t driving I got into my first car accident, which thankfully didn’t include other cars and nobody died. My friend was driving her truck, I was sitting shotgun, and another friend was in the cab. We were going about 20-30mph in pineapple fields near Honolua Bay and went over a bump that shot the little truck into the air. None of us were wearing seat belts and I remember everything happening in slow motion as she lost control of the truck. We floated from our seats up to the roof and as the truck nosedived into an embankment we slammed back down to our seats. My right elbow caught the armrest on the descend and as the truck settled my shoulder slammed into the the passenger door.

Without getting into anymore details: I shattered various areas of my right shoulder and had a broomstick break in my humerus. I was so thankful I didn’t need surgery or a cast. I was able to let it heal with a simple sling!

Do people think you are younger or older than you actually are?
I honestly don’t know. I feel I can’t win for losing this one. Professionally I have always suffered age discrimination, yet when I go out I feel old seeing all the teenyboppers beeboppin’ around! Let’s just say when I get carded, I mentally hear the choir sing, “Hallelujah”!  ;)

What is one of your biggest pet peeves?
When companies intentionally mislead consumers in attempts to disguise their products as “healthy”. For example, the overuse of “natural” labeled on processed foods. Most people don’t realize the term natural isn’t regulated like organic and more often than not, that “natural” product is far from natural!

In fact, Pepsi Co. was recently forced to settle a $9 million class action lawsuit regarding Naked Juice for labeling their product as ‘natural’ and ‘non-GMO’ on their bottles (click here to receive your $45 as everyone is eligible). Other food companies better wise up and learn from Pepsi Co’s expensive mistake as there have been at least 100 more lawsuits filed against food makers like Kashi and Ben & Jerry’s for misleading labels. Chobani might be next if they aren’t already included! “All Natural” does NOT include GMO ingredients, period — the end. This is just one of several reasons why GMO’s need to be labeled#EndRant ;)

What is your current favorite workout?
Focus T25 #PushPlay #EverybodyHas25Minutes

Do you have a workout buddy?
The majority of my workouts are solo, however I have ALWAYS considered my Brother my “personal trainer”. I would say he has been the most consistent workout buddy, and even though we haven’t lived in the same state for several years, we continue to share workouts and motivate each other.

Do you have a gym membership?
I do…but I should have cancelled it MONTHS ago. The only reason I’m not cancelling it RIGHT NOW is because the weather has quickly changed and winter is upon us. I don’t have a treadmill at home, and I don’t run in the rain unless it’s 70+ degrees out — and I certainly don’t run in the snow! Maybe I’m just a running diva!

Do you take vitamins or supplements?
Absolutely. I can’t image not — my body craves them. I’m very mindful of the companies and how they create their vitamins, so I feel confident when I take them with purpose. If you are interested in my laundry list of vitamins that I take, let me know in a comment! If this is something you and others are interested in, I can certainly write about it.

Do you have a “cheat” day?
My “cheats” or indulgences are probably ridiculous to most, but yes, I absolutely indulge! As you know, for personal reasons I choose to live a strict Raw, Plant-Based/Vegan, Soy-Free, Gluten-Free, & Sugar-Free lifestyle (since November 2011), and truth be told I don’t crave or even want toxic “cheats” in my body. Therefore, my indulgences typically include treats like Luna & Larry’s Coconut Bliss, sometimes a mimosa, a glass of wine, or Grey Goose with water and a lime when the occasion strikes. I *rarely* go out, so when I do, I make sure I’m not a party pooper!

Your turn! Answer one (or all!) of the questions in a comment! Or feel free to ask me addition questions & I’ll create a Random Questions II!

~*~